跳到主要内容

已知问题和限制

本文介绍了 RKE2 当前已知的问题和限制。如果你遇到本文未记录的 RKE2 问题,请提交一个新 issue

firewalld 与默认网络冲突

Firewalld 与 RKE2 的默认 Canal(Calico + Flannel)网络堆栈冲突。为避免意外,请在运行 RKE2 的系统上禁用 firewalld。

NetworkManager

NetworkManager 会控制默认网络命名空间中接口的路由表,其中许多 CNI(包括 RKE2 的默认 CNI)会为连接到容器而创建 veth 对。这会干扰 CNI 进行正确路由。因此,如果在启用 NetworkManager 的系统上安装 RKE2,强烈建议你将 NetworkManager 配置为忽略 calico/flannel 相关的网络接口。为此,在 /etc/NetworkManager/conf.d 中创建名为 rke2-canal.conf 的配置文件,内容如下:

[keyfile]
unmanaged-devices=interface-name:cali*;interface-name:flannel*

如果你还没有安装 RKE2,使用简单的 systemctl reload NetworkManager 就足以安装配置。如果在已安装 RKE2 的系统上执行此配置更改,则需要重启节点才能应用更改。

在某些操作系统(如 RHEL 8.4)中,NetworkManager 包含两个额外的服务,分别称为 nm-cloud-setup.servicenm-cloud-setup.timer。这些服务增加了一个路由表,干扰了 CNI 插件的配置。但是,现在没有可以避免这种情况的任何配置,如问题中所述。因此,如果存在这些服务,则应将其禁用。

信息

在 NetworkManager-1.30.0-11.el8_4 之前,节点也必须在禁用额外服务后重启。

Selinux 执行系统中的 Istio 默认失败

这是由 RKE2 的实时内核模块加载导致的,除非容器具有特权,否则在 Selinux 下不允许这样做。 要让 Istio 在这些条件下运行,需要两个步骤:

  1. 启用 CNI 作为 Istio 安装的一部分。请注意,此功能在撰写本文时仍处于 Alpha 状态。 确保 values.cni.cniBinDir=/opt/cni/binvalues.cni.cniConfDir=/etc/cni/net.d
  2. 安装完成后,CrashLoopBackoff 中应该有 cni-node pod。手动编辑他们的守护进程以在 install-cni 容器中包含 securityContext.privileged: true

这可以通过自定义覆盖来执行,如下所示:

apiVersion: install.istio.io/v1alpha1
kind: IstioOperator
spec:
components:
cni:
enabled: true
k8s:
overlays:
- apiVersion: "apps/v1"
kind: "DaemonSet"
name: "istio-cni-node"
patches:
- path: spec.template.spec.containers.[name:install-cni].securityContext.privileged
value: true
values:
cni:
image: rancher/mirrored-istio-install-cni:1.9.3
excludeNamespaces:
- istio-system
- kube-system
logLevel: info
cniBinDir: /opt/cni/bin
cniConfDir: /etc/cni/net.d

有关不遵循这些步骤时故障的详细日志,请参阅 issue 504

Control Groups V2

RKE2 v1.19.5+ 内置 containerd v1.4.x 或更高版本,因此应该在支持 cgroups v2 的系统上运行。
旧版本 (< 1.19.5) 内置 containerd 1.3.x 分支(从 1.4.x 向后移植 SELinux commits),它不支持 cgroups v2,需要一些前期配置:

假设使用基于 systemd 的系统,设置 systemd.unified_cgroup_hierarchy=0 内核参数将向 systemd 表明它应该以混合 (cgroups v1 + v2) 方式运行。 结合上述情况,设置 systemd.legacy_systemd_cgroup_controller 内核参数将向 systemd 表明它应该以旧版(cgroups v1)的方式运行。 由于这些参数是内核命令行参数,因此必须在系统引导程序中设置,以便在 /sbin/init 作为 PID 1 传递给 systemd

参阅:

Calico 与 vxlan 封装

在使用 vxlan 封装以及启用了 vxlan 接口的校验和卸载时,Calico 遇到了一个内核错误。 calico 项目rke2项目中描述了该问题。我们的临时解决方法是,在 calico helm chart 中使用 ChecksumOffloadBroken=true 的值,从而默认禁用校验和卸载。

此问题已在 Ubuntu 18.04、Ubuntu 20.04 和 openSUSE Leap 15.3 中发现。

Wicked

Wicked 根据 sysctl 配置文件(例如 /etc/sysctl.d/ 目录下)配置主机的网络设置。即使 RKE2 正在将 /net/ipv4/conf/all/forwarding 之类的参数设置为 1,但是只要重新应用网络配置(有几个事件会导致网络配置重新应用以及 rcwicked 在更新期间重启),Wicked 就可以恢复该配置。因此,在 sysctl 配置文件中启用 ipv4(和双栈情况下的 ipv6)转发非常重要。例如,建议创建一个名为 /etc/sysctl.d/90-rke2.conf 的文件,文件包含以下参数(仅在双栈下才需要 ipv6):

net.ipv4.conf.all.forwarding=1
net.ipv6.conf.all.forwarding=1

Canal 和 IP 地址枯竭

两个可能的原因如下:

  1. iptables 二进制文件未安装在主机中,并且有一个定义 hostPort 的 pod。Pod 将获得一个 IP,但它的创建将失败,而且 Kubernetes 不会停止尝试重新创建它,每次尝试都会消耗一个 IP。containerd 日志中会出现类似如下的错误信息。这是显示错误的日志:
plugin type="portmap" failed (add): failed to open iptables: exec: "iptables": executable file not found in $PATH

请安装 iptables 或 xtables-nft 包来解决这个问题

  1. 默认情况下,Canal 通过在 /var/lib/cni/networks/k8s-pod-network 中为每个 IP 创建一个锁定文件来跟踪 pod IP。每个 IP 都属于一个 pod,一旦 pod 被删除,IP 就会被删除。然而,万一 containerd 无法跟踪正在运行的 pod,锁定文件可能会泄露,Canal 将无法再重用这些 IP。如果发生这种情况,你可能会遇到 IP 地址枯竭的错误,例如:
failed to allocate for range 0: no IP addresses available in range set

有两种方法可以解决这个问题。你可以从该目录中手动删除未使用的 IP 或清空节点,运行 rke2-killall.sh,启动 rke2 systemd 服务并取消对节点的封锁。如果你需要执行这些操作,请通过 GitHub 报告问题,请确保说明问题是如何触发的。

CIS 模式下的 Ingress

默认情况下,当 RKE2 使用由 profile 参数选择的 CIS 配置文件运行时,它会应用可以限制 Ingress 的网络策略。此外,rke2-ingress-nginx chart 的默认设置为 hostNetwork: false,因此,用户需要设置自己的网络策略来允许访问 Ingress URL。以下是一个网络策略示例,该示例允许进入它所应用的命名空间中的任何工作负载。有关更多配置选项,请参阅此处

apiVersion: networking.k8s.io/v1
kind: NetworkPolicy
metadata:
name: ingress-to-backends
spec:
podSelector: {}
ingress:
- from:
- namespaceSelector:
matchLabels:
kubernetes.io/metadata.name: kube-system
podSelector:
matchLabels:
app.kubernetes.io/name: rke2-ingress-nginx
policyTypes:
- Ingress

有关更多信息,请参阅此 issue 上的评论。

Skip to main content

Known Issues and Limitations

This section contains current known issues and limitations with rke2. If you come across issues with rke2 not documented here, please open a new issue here.

Firewalld conflicts with default networking

Firewalld conflicts with RKE2's default Canal (Calico + Flannel) networking stack. To avoid unexpected behavior, firewalld should be disabled on systems running RKE2.

NetworkManager

NetworkManager manipulates the routing table for interfaces in the default network namespace where many CNIs, including RKE2's default, create veth pairs for connections to containers. This can interfere with the CNI’s ability to route correctly. As such, if installing RKE2 on a NetworkManager enabled system, it is highly recommended to configure NetworkManager to ignore calico/flannel related network interfaces. In order to do this, create a configuration file called rke2-canal.conf in /etc/NetworkManager/conf.d with the contents:

[keyfile]
unmanaged-devices=interface-name:cali*;interface-name:flannel*

If you have not yet installed RKE2, a simple systemctl reload NetworkManager will suffice to install the configuration. If performing this configuration change on a system that already has RKE2 installed, a reboot of the node is necessary to effectively apply the changes.

In some operating systems like RHEL 8.4, NetworkManager includes two extra services called nm-cloud-setup.service and nm-cloud-setup.timer. These services add a routing table that interfere with the CNI plugin's configuration. Unfortunately, there is no config that can avoid that as explained in the issue. Therefore, if those services exist, they should be disabled.

info

Before NetworkManager-1.30.0-11.el8_4, the node must also be rebooted after disabling the extra services.

Istio in Selinux Enforcing System Fails by Default

This is due to just-in-time kernel module loading of rke2, which is disallowed under Selinux unless the container is privileged. To allow Istio to run under these conditions, it requires two steps:

  1. Enable CNI as part of the Istio install. Please note that this feature is still in Alpha state at the time of this writing. Ensure values.cni.cniBinDir=/opt/cni/bin and values.cni.cniConfDir=/etc/cni/net.d
  2. After the install is complete, there should be cni-node pods in a CrashLoopBackoff. Manually edit their daemonset to include securityContext.privileged: true on the install-cni container.

This can be performed via a custom overlay as follows:

apiVersion: install.istio.io/v1alpha1
kind: IstioOperator
spec:
components:
cni:
enabled: true
k8s:
overlays:
- apiVersion: "apps/v1"
kind: "DaemonSet"
name: "istio-cni-node"
patches:
- path: spec.template.spec.containers.[name:install-cni].securityContext.privileged
value: true
values:
cni:
image: rancher/mirrored-istio-install-cni:1.9.3
excludeNamespaces:
- istio-system
- kube-system
logLevel: info
cniBinDir: /opt/cni/bin
cniConfDir: /etc/cni/net.d

For more information regarding exact failures with detailed logs when not following these steps, please see Issue 504.

Control Groups V2

RKE2 v1.19.5+ ships with containerd v1.4.x or later, hence should run on cgroups v2 capable systems.
Older versions (< 1.19.5) is shipped with containerd 1.3.x fork (with back-ported SELinux commits from 1.4.x) which does not support cgroups v2 and requires a little up-front configuration:

Assuming a systemd-based system, setting the systemd.unified_cgroup_hierarchy=0 kernel parameter will indicate to systemd that it should run with hybrid (cgroups v1 + v2) support. Combined with the above, setting the systemd.legacy_systemd_cgroup_controller kernel parameter will indicate to systemd that it should run with legacy (cgroups v1) support. As these are kernel command-line arguments they must be set in the system bootloader so that they will be passed to systemd as PID 1 at /sbin/init.

See:

Calico with vxlan encapsulation

Calico hits a kernel bug when using vxlan encapsulation and the checksum offloading of the vxlan interface is on. The issue is described in the calico project and in rke2 project. The workaround we are applying is disabling the checksum offloading by default by applying the value ChecksumOffloadBroken=true in the calico helm chart.

This issue has been observed in Ubuntu 18.04, Ubuntu 20.04 and openSUSE Leap 15.3

Wicked

Wicked configures the networking settings of the host based on the sysctl configuration files (e.g. under /etc/sysctl.d/ directory). Even though rke2 is setting parameters such as /net/ipv4/conf/all/forwarding to 1, that configuration could be reverted by Wicked whenever it reapplies the network configuration (there are several events that result in reapplying the network configuration as well as rcwicked restart during updates). Consequently, it is very important to enable ipv4 (and ipv6 in case of dual-stack) forwarding in sysctl configuration files. For example, it is recommended to create a file with the name /etc/sysctl.d/90-rke2.conf containing these paratemers (ipv6 only needed in case of dual-stack):

net.ipv4.conf.all.forwarding=1
net.ipv6.conf.all.forwarding=1

Canal and IP exhaustion

There are two possible reasons for this:

  1. iptables binary is not installed in the host and there is a pod defining a hostPort. The pod will be given an IP but its creation will fail and Kubernetes will not cease trying to recreate it, consuming one IP every time it tries. Error messages similar to the following will appear in the containerd log. This is the log showing the error:
plugin type="portmap" failed (add): failed to open iptables: exec: "iptables": executable file not found in $PATH 

Please install iptables or xtables-nft package to resolve this problem

  1. By default Canal keeps track of pod IPs by creating a lock file for each IP in /var/lib/cni/networks/k8s-pod-network. Each IP belongs to a single pod and will be deleted as soon as the pod is removed. However, in the unlikely event that containerd loses track of the running pods, lock files may be leaked and Canal will not be able to reuse those IPs anymore. If this occurs, you may experience IP exhaustion errors, for example:
failed to allocate for range 0: no IP addresses available in range set

There are two ways to resolve this. You can either manually remove unused IPs from that directory or drain the node, run rke2-killall.sh, start the rke2 systemd service and uncordon the node. If you need to undertake any of these actions, please report the problem via GitHub, making sure to specify how it was triggered.

Ingress in CIS Mode

By default, when RKE2 is run with a CIS profile selected by the profile parameter, it applies network policies that can be restrictive for ingress. This, coupled with the rke2-ingress-nginx chart having hostNetwork: false by default, requires users to set network policies of their own to allow access to the ingress URLs. Below is an example networkpolicy that allows ingress to any workload in the namespace it is applied in. See https://kubernetes.io/docs/concepts/services-networking/network-policies/ for more configuration options.

apiVersion: networking.k8s.io/v1
kind: NetworkPolicy
metadata:
name: ingress-to-backends
spec:
podSelector: {}
ingress:
- from:
- namespaceSelector:
matchLabels:
kubernetes.io/metadata.name: kube-system
podSelector:
matchLabels:
app.kubernetes.io/name: rke2-ingress-nginx
policyTypes:
- Ingress

For more information, refer to comments on https://github.com/rancher/rke2/issues/3195.